May 20, 2013

Craigslist Scams

I have written several blog postson helping my cousin sell a property in Hungary. I had all these people from countries all over the world want to move to a little town north of Budapest, sight unseen. The result was I helped a lot of people uncover the scams before they responded.

Image representing Google Checkout as depicted...

Image via CrunchBase

Craigslist Scammer Mark Scott – aka some dude in Africa.

Now, I am trying to sell some items on Craigslist. We have sold on Craigslist before without issues. This time, we have some items that have significant value.

There are some rules to Craigslist.

  1. Cash ONLY!
  1. Don’t let them come to your house – meet them somewhere else.
  1. DO NOT USE Paypal or Google Checkout – they are scams

So, today’s scammer calls himself Mark Scott <mark...@yahoo.com>. He is using a yahoo account and judging by other sites, he is one of many.

This guy was clever because he acknowledges there are scammers out there, but his message seemed disjointed and he used bad English:

“I understand the present condition as started in the advert and i’m okay  with the asking price, i will not be able to come to look at it due to  the long distant andI will like to contact my lawyer about this before  making payment due to the scam artist.i got scammed from someone  the  easiest way for me to make the payment is through Google Checkout checkout.google.comand I’ll take care of the pickup and delivery when  the payment has been made by my mover, provide me your name, address,  city, state, zip code for the mover to calculate the cost of the  shipment and your google checkout email account for me to make the  payment.Please Email me back and let me know if this helps”

Before I did my research, I responded with the following and was skeptical about his intentions:

Mark,

I am following up on your interest in the trombone.

So, help me understand how you want to do this.

1. You want to pay through Google Checkout.

Ok – the price will go up to cover the fees associated with a credit card. We priced it for cash. I will calculate. I think it will be $35.00

2. Once we receive payment, we will release the trombone to your shipper.

The address to ship from is:

5348 N. Tacoma Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46220

Let me know what you want to do.

Paul Lorinczi

This is the email that convinced me he is a scam:

 

“this is legit business and i have the support of my

attorney on this so there is no need to panic, i

would have love to come over cash, it’s because of

the long distant and i’m very busy at work, i

understand that there are many scams going on online,

but to keep you rest assured, i will make the payment

before we proceed with the shipment. i find it the

easiest way to use my credit card safely and reliable

method of payment, you only have to add your

credit/debit card account to it and your money will

be transfer into your credit/debit card account when

the payment has been made, get back to me with your

google checkout email account when you done, for me

to make the payment.”

The English is really bad. So, I responded with another question:

Mark,

What is the name of your business and where are you located?

Paul Lorinczi

He responds with more bad English:

 

I am woring with Construction Company,I
I am from US in Atlanta GA, You dont have any problem ,I’m satisfied with the condition of it. I will be paying you through Google checkout(www.Googlecheckout.com) which is a fast, safe and reliable method of payment.. My shipping company will come to your location for the pick up when the payment is made provide me the recent picture of it, and i will need your full address for me to forward it to the shipping co for the calculation of the shipment costI finally ended it with:

Mark,I am not comfortable with this arrangement.

I have relatives in Georgia. I am willing to ship it to them and have them accept cash payment for the Trombone.

If you are open to doing this, I will get it arranged with them.

Paul Lorinczi

I have not heard from him since. Per Craigslist, I am reporting this one to the FBI.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Post By Paul Lorinczi (132 Posts)

Paul is an Internet consultant and President of TLL Ventures LLC. TLL Ventures is a small Internet marketing firm working with companies to maximize opportunities in eCommerce, business blogging, social media and search engine optimization to dominate their markets. My interests are in Entrepreneurial pursuits, soccer, music, and travel.

Website: →

Connect

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments

  1. Hi Paul,
    Right this minute I am involved in something that sounds similar to what you outlined above. I placed an ad on Craigslist for a 1930s vintage stove for sale.
    The supposed buyer sends back text message #1 “Is your post still for sale?” and outlines my ad minus pictures. I reply yes. Text #2 I am satisfied with condition of it in the advert and i’m okay with the asking price. I will not be able to come look at it due…..Text #3 …to the long distant and the easiest way for me to make the payment is through Google Checkout (gives following web address) checkout.google.com Mover co will come to……Text #3 continues with ….your location for the pick up when the payment is made provide me the recent picture of it, and i will need your full address for me to…..TEXT ENDS….no more texts yet.
    First of all, the ad was just placed on Saturday, the first text is on Tues, so the picture of my stove IS recent. Second of all, no names or voice calls only texts. Third of all, I am not at all familiar with how google checkout works but seemingly it is for people who have listed items on there and not for money transfers. I would like your opinion on this, please. Thank you.

  2. To quote General Akbar of Star Wars fame: “It’s a scam. It’s a scam. Retreat!”

    If you want to play around with him, ask him where he is located. Tell him, I have relatives in that city. I only deal in cash. I would be happy to ship it to my relatives and have them meet you for a cash sale.

    What is the area code for the phone number he is texting from?

    I bet it is either Googletalk or Skype number.

Leave a Reply

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin